The Thing Around Your Neck: Book Review

Chimamanda is an author, I knew I’d admire from the first book I pick up. I started with her short story collection as I felt like reading something that I could flit in and out of, and I really enjoyed it.

Her stories touch on such diverse & important topics including race, culture, feminism, what it really means to be a woman, immigration, religion, politics, family, relationships, society, parenting, and the overarching ties that bind Africa and the United States. Her writing is sharp, witty and radiates with emotional wisdom in the way she reconciles with the intricacies of human struggle.

Coming from an Indian ethnic background, the way she draws out the delicate balance between the culture one belongs to and the what surrounds you, resonated deeply with me. I could draw a lot of parallels between the the rich Nigerian culture, the idea of the American dream with what I have observed in India. This aspect further enhanced the reading experience for me.

As much as I loved her short stories, I did feel the impact of her storytelling would be much stronger in a full length novel. I can’t wait devour the rest of her work.

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

